Services for your success

Welcome to SWD Kreutel, your partner for professional translations and language services. I am a qualified language professional offering translation, proofreading, and editing services in and between German and English, as well as English language teaching for individuals or groups. Degrees from leading German and US universities in this discipline, close familiarity with both cultures, and practical experience make me the perfect choice for your needs.

I started my professional education in 2008, enrolling in Leipzig University's B.A. Translation program from which I graduated in 2011. This program with a focus on technical translation, widely considered one of the most hands‑on degrees in the field, is offered by the university's renowned Institute for Applied Linguistics and Translation (IALT). It heavily emphasizes the functionalist approach to translation, which abandoned the ideal of the most literal translation possible in favor of natural, fluent target texts which fulfill the same purpose in the target language and culture as the source text in the source language. I value this concept very highly and try to follow it as best I can in my work.

Immediately after finishing my studies in Leipzig, I was accepted into Kent State University's M.A. Teaching English as a Second Language program and received a graduate assistantship as an instructor in the university's ESL center. I worked in this position until I graduated in 2013, teaching prospective international students whose proficiency in English was not yet sufficient to enroll in a program. This allowed me to gather both pedagogical knowledge and practical teaching experience during whose two years, while at the same time broadening my cultural understanding and enhancing my related skills. I also took additional courses on the subject of translation, which not only bolstered my previously existing know-how, but also offered new insights and perspectives on translation processes.

Upon returning to Germany in 2013, I started working as an in‑house translator and editor for a multinational business software company in Dresden, Saxony, where I learned a lot about IT & software, telecommunications, medical technology, and marketing, as well as the finance and insurance industries. Along with the engineering knowledge gathered during my studies, this formed the foundation of my specializations as listed on the Services page. At the end of 2016, I left this employer to move to Weissensberg on Lake Constance and enter the world of freelancing.

Take a look around my website to find more information on me and my work, but also on other relevant topics such as German and US culture or translation theory and practice. If you have any questions or are interested in a collaboration, please feel free to contact me through any of the channels available on the Contact page. Should you require services that go beyond the scope of my offer, I would be happy to help you find a match among the colleagues in my professional network.

Willkommen bei SWD Anja Kreutel

Als studierte Übersetzerin und Sprachlehrerin für Englisch biete ich Ihnen eine breite Palette sprachlicher Dienstleistungen. In und zwischen meinen Arbeitssprachen Deutsch und Englisch übersetze, korrigiere und lektoriere ich Ihre Texte professionell, mit dem richtigen Gefühl für Sprache im Kontext. Zusätzlich biete ich englische Sprachtrainings für Gruppen in verschiedenen Fachbereichen sowie Einzelunterricht vor Ort oder online.

Von 2008 bis 2011 studierte ich am Institut für angewandte Linguistik und Translatologie (IALT) der Universität Leipzig im B.A. Translation mit Schwerpunkt technische Übersetzung, einem außerordentlich praxisorientierten Studiengang. Vermittelt wurde hier der funktionalistische Ansatz der Übersetzungstheorie, bei dem nicht eine wörtliche Wiedergabe des Ausgangstextes im Vordergrund steht, sondern vielmehr auf eine natürlich klingende, kulturell und stilistisch adäquate Übersetzung Wert gelegt wird, die in der Zielsprache dieselbe Funktion erfüllt wie der Ausgangstext in der Ausgangssprache. Diesem Anspruch bleibe ich auch in meiner Arbeit treu.

Im Anschluss an das Studium in Leipzig absolvierte ich von 2011 bis 2013 den Masterstudiengang Teaching Englisch as a Second Language (M.A. TESL) an der Kent State University im US-Bundesstaat Ohio. Begleitend dazu erhielt ich eine Graduate Assistantship, in deren Rahmen ich als Sprachlehrerin am ESL Center der Universität eingesetzt wurde, wo ich mit internationalen Studienbewerbern verschiedenster Herkunft arbeitete, deren Englischkenntnisse für ein Studium noch nicht aureichten. So konnte ich in diesen zwei Jahren parallel theoretisches und praktisches Wissen im Bereich der Fremdsprachenvermittlung gewinnen sowie gleichzeitig mein interkulturelles Verständnis und die damit verbundenen Fähigkeiten deutlich ausbauen. Daneben belegte ich hier weitere Kurse im Bereich Übersetzung, die nicht nur meine bestehenden Kenntnisse vertieften, sondern auch neue Sichtweisen und Methoden eröffneten.

Nach meiner Rückkehr aus den USA trat ich noch 2013 eine Stelle als Inhouse‐Übersetzerin bei einem multinationalen Hersteller von Unternehmenssoftware in Dresden an. Hier konnte ich meine Fachkenntnisse in den Bereichen IT & Software, Telekommunikation, Medizintechnik, Marketing sowie Finanz‑ und Versicherungswesen deutlich ausbauen und somit den Grundstein für meine Spezialisierungen legen. Ende 2016 verließ ich diesen Arbeitgeber und ging in Weißensberg am Bodensee den Schritt in die Selbstständigkeit.

Auf meiner Internetpräsenz finden Sie neben Informationen zu mir und meiner Arbeit auch Weiterführendes zu deutscher und amerikanischer Kultur sowie Übersetzungswissenschaft und ‑praxis. Bei Fragen oder Interesse an einer Zusammenarbeit können Sie sich jederzeit über die unter Kontakt angegebenen Daten an mich wenden. Sollten Sie Dienstleistungen benötigen, die über mein Angebot hinausgehen, versuche ich gern, den Kontakt mit einem entsprechend qualifizierten Kollegen aus meinem professionellen Netzwerk zu vermitteln.